Let’s Talk Dress Codes

I attended a career fair at my college today in the hopes of finding a job and thought I would be remiss in my blogging duties if I did not share my outfit with you all. I’ve also got a second outfit that’s similar to what I used to wear at my office, where the dress code was very much “casual.” I also decided to dress somewhat festively since it’s Valentine’s Day, despite the fact that I’m not really a huge fan of it. Enjoy!

picmonkey-collage

Outfit 1: Business Casual

dsc_0002-edit

So I would consider this outfit here to be business casual, which is what the dress code for the career fair was. The nice part about business casual is that you don’t have to worry about wearing a suit. I hate buying suits. Unless I can buy the items separately, I can never get both the jacket and the pants/skirt to fit. Usually I end up with bottoms that fit well, but a jacket that is WAY too small for my girls. Sizing up so that the jacket fits my chest properly means that the bottoms end up being too big. It’s a stressful time for me and one of the few times that I do not enjoy shopping.

dsc_0007-edit

This is why I like business casual. I could have easily traded out this blazer for a cardigan and it still would have been fine. Another great thing about business casual is that it’s easier to get away with prints and colors. I like solids and neutrals as much as the next gal, but patterns and colors are so much fun!

dsc_0006-edit

This dress that I’m wearing looks like it’s made out of some kind of tweed material, but that’s actually just a print. I got it from a stitch fix box over a year ago, and I just love it. Usually I’ll pair it with a black turtleneck underneath, but I figured I’d get too hot doing that today. The blazer came in the same box, and it’s got a super cute polka-dot lining that you can see when the cuffs are rolled up.

dsc_0005-edit
Dress: Stitch Fix (similar here, here, and here) / Blazer: Stitch Fix (similar here, here, and here) / Boots: DSW (this year’s style here) / Bag: Stella & Dot (discontinued, similar here, here, and here)

Outfit 2: Smart Casual

Like I said, this second outfit is really similar to what I would wear most days at my old job. The atmosphere there was very laid-back and everyone dressed pretty casually. (Honestly at times I thought some of the guys there dressed a bit too casually.) I am of the opinion however, that even in a casual environment you should still dress nicely. Flip-flops, shirts with holes in them, and leggings as pants are just not OK in my book.

dsc_0010-edit

First, if you want to wear jeans, you should still stick to darker rinses. Anything super light, or with a lot of distressed details is a little too inappropriate for the office. White jeans (as long as they’re of a thick material) and colored denim are also an option. Knit blazers like the one I’m wearing here are great. They’re super soft so it won’t feel like you’re wearing a suit jacket, and they will instantly add polish to any kind of casual outfit.

dsc_0013-edit

You don’t have to wear heels like I’m doing here, but your shoes should still look nice. And no open-toes unless your feet are nicely pedicured. Guys, I’m talking to you here too. No sandals if you’ve got some gnarly toenail situation going on. Nobody wants to see that. Nope.

dsc_0011-edit

My mom always says “dress for the job you want, not the job you have” which I think are some great words to live by.  I’m not saying you should wear a suit every day when everyone else wears blue jeans, you don’t want to overdo it. And obviously if you work outside like on an oil rig or something, don’t wear stiletto heels. You still want to cater your outfit to your work environment. My point here though is that if you give off the appearance of not caring enough about the way you dress, that could send the message to your employer that you also don’t care enough about the work you’re doing.

Okay, I’ll get off my soap box now. 🙂

dsc_0016-edit
Blazer: Old Navy (similar here and here) / Top: Charming Charlie (similar here, and here) / Pants: LOFT (this year’s style here) / Boots: DSW (similar here, here, and here)
2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Dress Codes

  1. That’s a lovely dress! It looks so nice on you, it’s a very flattering cut, and the bkazer rwally dresses it up for an office look. I love the orange blazer! A really smart look with a pop of color 🙂 I wear the blue blazer you gave me quite often as a statement piece in my work outfits.

    Like

Leave a Reply

