Time for Something New

dsc_0008

My 28th birthday was last week, and I’m honestly not sure how I feel about it. I think it’s mostly because my future has been so uncertain for the past few months, and I have no idea how long that uncertainty will last.

I was laid off from my job at the beginning of June and it was a company-wide thing. The company I had worked for did processing and reservoir characterization for oil & gas companies. As you might imagine, it had been a tough couple of years for us. Before I was let go in June there had been multiple rounds of layoffs, pay-cuts, and required furlough days. At the end of each pay period I wasn’t sure if I would still have a job come the next one.

So on the one hand, actually getting laid off was a relief. I had been living with this constant anxiety over when (not if) I would be let go and to finally have it actually happen felt like a huge weight off my chest.

dsc_0006

On the other hand, being unemployed and single with bills to pay and a mortgage on a townhouse to boot, job hunting has been stressful to say the least. Especially because my bachelor’s degree in Geophysical Engineering can be a bit limiting as to my career options.

In an attempt to combat my feelings of melancholy and stagnation, I’ve decided to start this fashion blog. I’ve always loved clothes, shoes, and makeup and have been following multiple other fashion blogs for a few years now. My friends, former coworkers, and my mom will ask me for fashion advice,  and one friend has even suggested I become a personal stylist. I figure this will be something fun for me to do, and I could use a little fun right now.

It’s time for something new.

dsc_0010
Blazer: Nordstrom (old, similar in black) / Top: Target / Jeans: Madewell / Booties: DSW (old, similar, similar) / Necklace: Stella & Dot (exact)
Leave a Reply

